Reloading the 40 cal s&w cartridge [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Reloading the 40 cal s&w cartridge

zeno nine
05-07-2010, 17:03
I've been reloading for about six months for my son. Am ready to buy the dies for my Glock 22. I was on another site recently and several people said that reloading for older ( 2nd gen is what I have) 40's wasn't a good idea as the cartridge isn't fully supported and can lead to a KABOOM. Would like some feedback from Glock owners who have reloaded the 40 cal.

D. Manley
05-07-2010, 18:48
I've been reloading for about six months for my son. Am ready to buy the dies for my Glock 22. I was on another site recently and several people said that reloading for older ( 2nd gen is what I have) 40's wasn't a good idea as the cartridge isn't fully supported and can lead to a KABOOM. Would like some feedback from Glock owners who have reloaded the 40 cal.

And most of these internet experts have never owned a Glock, shot a Glock and surely have'nt reloaded for a Glock. For the most part, they are simply parroting what they've "heard". The lack of chamber support deal has assumed a life all it's own thanks to the internet and even some well intentioned (but misinformed) souls within reloading circles offer caveats that I don't believe are grounded in reality. Truth is, you'll find Glock's chamber support to be about the same as most other, similar, combat pistols. Current production models in fact, have excellent chamber support. The misinformation is exacerbated by the fact that Glock does have generous internal chamber dimensions however, this creates no problem whatsoever for the reloader and if it even shortens brass life, I can't tell it.