Thigh Holster? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Thigh Holster?

WWJGD
05-16-2010, 09:15
I'm wondering if anyone out there has ever used a thigh holster.

I usually carry my G19 in a cross-body purse, but I need another option for when I can't keep my purse on me at all times. I occasionally carry a .38 snub IWB but need an option for when I'm wearing a dress.

Anyone tried thigh or leg holsters? Any recommendations?

WWJGD
05-17-2010, 23:18
I'm going to post this in another forum, but my issue is mainly that I would like to be able to carry while wearing a long dress. I am a performing musician, so I wear floor-length formals on a semi-regular basis. How the heck do you carry concealed in a strapless ballgown?

I've seen thigh holsters (yes, other than in the movies), but it just seems impractical and uncomfortable. Of course, better uncomfortable than unarmed, especially when walking to and from a vehicle alone at night in downtown Houston.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated!

Linda
05-18-2010, 14:38
Long dress=ankle holster. Although I'm not a fan of an ankle holster as everyday carry, (it puts you in a very vulnerable position to retrieve your gun), I could definitely see the benefits of it for long dress wear.

WWJGD
05-18-2010, 19:09
Yeah, I will have to try out some leg options. I agree that it's not ideal, but may be the best solution for formal situations.

ViperR
05-19-2010, 06:39
Go to the RimFire forum here and get to the "rimfire home defence" thread. Post #377 is what I explained my wife wears.

ViperR
05-19-2010, 14:50