2nd time out with the g-20 a little better. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : 2nd time out with the g-20 a little better.

527varmint
05-16-2010, 17:52
Today I took the g-20 to the indoor range. They had some reloads 180 gr FMJ 20.99 for 50. I fired 100 reloads and then 25 rounds of the DT 200gr wfngc.

I was doing really bad the first 25. After that I started shooting about 4" groups at 25 feet. Its obviously me. I could put a few close together but I had nothing consistent. On the last 50 rounds I was shooting 3-4 inch groups pretty consistent. What helped was follow thru. I tried to keep my eye on the target during and after the shot. A firmer grip also helped so the gun was recoiling back into my hand and not flipping up.

Then I switched to the double tap. Their accuracy was about the same. They seemed to shoot low and left after a shot or two but I decided that just before the gun fired I was tilting it down in anticipation of recoil. Follow thru made even more difference with the hot loads and I had to focus on it real hard. By the last five rounds I shot em off fast as I could re-aquire the target and hit all 5 within a 4 inch group. Holding on tight and having the gun recoil back made an even bigger difference with the double tap but also increased felt recoil alot.

If your holding on tight enough to hit the targets then it is just enough recoil to cause a slight tingling from the grips texture hitting the hand.Not unpleasant at all but i'm sure glad I didn't buy a 44mag for my first hand gun! I would definently flinch and not hit anything with the 44mag.

One thing I don't like is how my sweaty hand feels on the grip and the texture on the back of the grip.

The meprolight sights are ok but I feel like I could benefit from a larger dots.

For what its worth I have very little pistol experience. I have shot my friends 9mm xd i think it was the fullsize one. It had 3 dot sights and I did much better. I was hitting 3-4" groups at 50 feet.