Glock 22 chainfire? (long post) [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Glock 22 chainfire? (long post)

lloydchristmas
06-04-2010, 18:47
Hello. New to Glocktalk and this will be my first post. I was trying to post this question quite a while ago, but it took a long time to become an approved member. In the meanwhile, I tried to read as much as I could, but did not see a thread topic consistent with my problem.

First, some background. I work as a Police Officer for a fairly small city. We only have 14 sworn Officers. We are allowed to choose between the Glock models 22 and 23 for our duty weapon. I carry a 22, serial number KLB941. Compared to some area departments, we train with our firearms quite a bit, but certainly nothing excessive. I approximate having only 4-5000 rounds through the gun.

At our last training session, I was on the firing line completing some look-shoot exercises. It went something like this;

pull trigger=bang
pull trigger=bang
pull trigger=bang
pull trigger=bangbangbangbang!

The range master called a cease-fire, and I stepped off the line to check my weapon. I field stripped it, brushed it out, but didn't notice anything obviously amiss. After reassembly, I stepped back to the line, inserted a fresh magazine, and, long story short, basically achieved the same results. The weapon would go full-auto on its own volition, but would not empty the magazine when it did so.

I am not a Glock armorer, but I am a certified armorer for the Colt M-16, AR-15 variants, and 9mm subgun families. My basic premise then was that there was a problem between the sear and the firing pin. We do have an Officer that is a certified Glock armorer, but after inspection, he was not comfortable diagnosing the problem, as 1) He took the course quite a while ago, and 2) We really haven't had any problems with the weapons yet that he needed to address.