Any experience fishing the James River (Lynchburg VA) [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Any experience fishing the James River (Lynchburg VA)

fourthandgoal66
06-05-2010, 19:04
Alright i'm looking for some advice on fishing the James River. I have alot of fishing experience, specifically pond fishing and quite a bit of fishing in the Gulf off of LA. My Girlfriend just recently moved to Lynchburg and Ill be visiting on the weekends and I'd like to maybe fish the James River some. I have no experience fishing rivers and I'm just looking for some advice on how to get started. I guess I'm looking at having to rent a canoe or buy one down the line to fish there. Also smallmouth? catfish? What species can I expect. I've done some research but I would like some personal experiences.
Thanks

Oh and ill take any advice on long distance relationships also. this will be tough. :cool:

snuggles
06-06-2010, 19:09
Yea, you're on your own on the long distance thing - good luck! :supergrin:

Now, river fishing I can help with. First off, stick with kayaks unless you plan on having company. I love a good float but sometimes it just doesn't pan out that way. Recently, I've been hiking and wading a lot. Just go out to the river and walk along it. This helps me remember certain spots and gives me a chance to study the area a little more. And it's refreshing on a hot day.

It depends on what parts of the James you fish - smallies in the rapids, sunfish and largemouth in the slower areas with grasses, and some big cats in the deep pools. I could have sworn I saw a paddlefish in there once while snorkeling too, but I just like to think I did :whistling:.