Which way to go [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Which way to go

Woofie
06-30-2010, 20:58
I'm 25 and going to school part time working on a BS in electrical engineering. After graduation my goal is to get commissioned as an officer and work on nuclear reactors. I'm an electrician by trade and have general construction experience as well as experience working with some heavy equipment.

In the years while I'm working on my degree I am thinking about joining the Navy Reserve. Of course with my construction experience I am looking heavily into the Seabees. Are there any other ratings that would help me out in my goal to work on the nukes that I am overlooking? From what I can tell the reserves don't have any part of the nuke program.

When I am ready to go active duty after graduation, will my time in the reserves be looked at favorably or will that have no bearing whatsoever?

And also, I've read that with my college credit I would enlist at an E3. Is that correct and how does it impact the rest of my career?

chuckman
07-01-2010, 11:24
Talk to the recruiters very carefully. It is often hard to go from reserves to active duty in the Navy. VERY hard. Hard to believe, but true. Also, you need to see what ratings are available. SeaBees almost always have undermanned ratings, but some rating may be closed (i.e., fully-manned). It seems to me you'd be a shoo-in for the SeaBees. As for nukes, the reserves, to my knowledge, do not support any of the nuke commands or programs. Now, there are many nuke sailors who get out of the Navy and join the reserves who are nuke sailors, but they don't usually 'stay' nuke, nor do they start off as nukes in the reserves. Part of the reason the reserves don't support a sailor going into the nuke program is because it is very competitive, very long, and has a very high attrition rate.