Copier hard drives? This was news to me. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Copier hard drives? This was news to me.


Skyhook
07-02-2010, 18:46
http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=6412572n

Linux3
07-03-2010, 06:19
This is really, really interesting. And a lot disturbing.
Thanks for the link. I had no idea.

Skyhook
07-03-2010, 07:13
This is really, really interesting. And a lot disturbing.
Thanks for the link. I had no idea.


You are welcome. :beer:

I was taken totally aback by that, also. It seems there is an awful lot of personal info just floating about.

Who knew?

The10mmKid
07-03-2010, 08:46
Just think of the wealth of info on the public copiers at Office Depot and Staples.

'da Kid

JimmyN
07-04-2010, 05:32
You can also make another print of the last document copied, even if it doesn't have a hard drive. Unplug the lead to the lamp so the light doesn't clear the drum's image, then press "Copy". It will then print the image that was left on the photo drum from the last copy.

dogwalker3110
07-04-2010, 06:13
Wow! That is really scary. Who knew?

byf43
07-04-2010, 09:36
We have several copiers on each floor of our office building, and each one has scan-back capability.

Plus, we have a couple of hi-speed copiers in my office that has scan-back and store capability.

The copier manufacturer has replaced the harddrives (2 of 'em) in one copier, twice.
We scan all kinds of data on ours. :wow:
Most of that stuff is proprietary info.

dotsun
07-04-2010, 12:02
You can also make another print of the last document copied, even if it doesn't have a hard drive. Unplug the lead to the lamp so the light doesn't clear the drum's image, then press "Copy". It will then print the image that was left on the photo drum from the last copy.

This will cause a service code on virtually any current digital copier.