Taurus PT1911-Should I Pop? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Taurus PT1911-Should I Pop?

BayouGlocker
08-02-2010, 16:36
At a local pawn shop, I've found a black framed Taurus PT1911, the sides of the slide appear to be stainless, altho the top, back, and inside the slide serrations are black. I'm not good at telling the difference tween types of finishes.... It has ambi safties, which I'm kinda "bla" about, but the fact that they're extended is a plus for me. Novak sights. Pachmyer (sp?) rubberized grips, that are way bigger than I'd want to carry with, but they are comfy to hold. It comes with (I think) an Ed Brown 8 round mag with a thick rubber padded base.

The price is $415 or 425, can't remember for sure. Should I pop? I realize that there are plenty reasons NOT to buy a Taurus 1911--it seems that you either love or hate the guns. They work, or they don't. For this price, I'm tempted to buy it as a first 1911. If it works then I'd have an ok set up for a first steel gun. If not, could I get most of my money back out of it?

jrs93accord
08-02-2010, 16:46
I would look for a new or used Rock Island Armory 1911A1 instead. For the same amount of money, you will get a better pistol.

dakrat
08-02-2010, 16:51
no pop.

ctfireman
08-02-2010, 16:52
To those who don't know 1911's inside & out (myself included) they appear nice & have all the modern doodads. Thanks to people here, i didn't jump on it when i had the same chance, mint gun & similar price. You can get a few different 1911's brand new for that price & get a higher quality 1911. The experts will be along any minute.

38 Super Fan
08-02-2010, 16:52
I agree with JR. A new RIA is gonna run about $425 and is in my opinion a better gun.

RonS
08-02-2010, 16:53
Do you have duck decoys you need to keep from floating away?

bac1023
08-02-2010, 16:58

:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

bac1023
08-02-2010, 16:59
Yeah, stay away from the Taurus PT1911.

There are far better 1911s on the market for the same price.