How bad would it be [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How bad would it be

glockaviator
08-04-2010, 09:54
To have a round go off while reloading. That is, it's not in the gun. It may be in a die. I was thinking about a round stuck in a die with primer and powder. Seems to me you should not attempt to get it out. Just order a new die and get on with life. Or as someone said, what if, you try, mistakenly, to seat a primer with powder and a bullet. Any known statistics on how many people have a serious accident per year from hand loading? I am wondering how dangerous this really is (per hour vs, say driving per hour, or motorcycling, skiing etc) Sorry for the morbidity. I used to be a safety officer.

unclebob
08-04-2010, 10:41
How would you get a case stuck in a die with a primer and powder? But lets say you did. You do not have a bullet on the case. The primer goes off and the powder burns. So basically a pop and probably some smoke.
Take 4 or 5 gains of smokeless powder and put it in an ashtray and try and light it. One it is not easy do and second it is very unimpressive. The powder is not confined so it is not going too burn very fast. And no it is not what a lot of people think explode.

Batesmotel
08-04-2010, 10:53
Just do everything in the proper order and you won't have a problem. For example, you only prime empty cases. Think about it, would you want to charge a case with no primer and have powder running out of the flash hole?
Follow the reloading manual and reloading is safe.

BadAndy
08-04-2010, 10:57