Loading 22-250 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Loading 22-250

tglynn
08-13-2010, 15:28
I am kind of new to reloading (since Feb. 2010). I have mostly reloaded .223 and .40 without issues. Last night I started a batch for my 22-250. I use all Hornady equipment and manual. Hornady manual states for a 55 grain SP w/ can. C.O.L: 2.350". I put 33.0 grains of Varget in case and set projectile to C.O.L. as listed. Now here is the issue.

The powder is loose in the case so as I can hear and feel the powder moving when the cartridge is inverted.

Simple answer to me is to add more powder, but 33.0 grain is almost at the max for Varget (as per Hornady manual).

1. Is it ok to fire the cartridge as loaded (I am leaning towards "no".)?
2. If no, I do not know what to do (new powder, add more Varget, ect..)

Any help is appreciated.

GOA Guy
08-13-2010, 15:51
A full case of powder would be nice but, many fine loads will not be. Follow the manuals. I don't have the lastest Nosler manual but, the some of the older ones show load density. The Nosler fifth edition shows 33.0 Varget as 78% in the 22-250 with a 55 Ballistic Tip. The MAX load for above is 35.0 for 83%. H380 is shown having a density 93% at its max of 39.5, that is as close to a full case as Nosler shows for their 55 B-T in the 22-250.

GioaJack
08-13-2010, 16:11
Unless you're loading metallic cases with black powder a full case or compressed charge is not a requirement.

Follow your manual loads... screwing around with rifle loads as a newb can keep you from becoming an old fart like unclebob, Fred or Cobra.

Jack

n2extrm
08-13-2010, 17:22
I have used Varget and RE-15 in 22-250. Don't worry about the case not being full, it will be fine. I like RE-15 a little better then Varget in 22-250.

tglynn
08-14-2010, 11:14