Feeding the FMJ vs JHP [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Feeding the FMJ vs JHP

steve4102
08-19-2010, 22:25
I've been shooting MG .40 180gr JHP without issues in my DW 10mm and CZ P06. I'm just about out of these bullets and I need to stock up. I was just going to order my same old JHP when it was recommended to me to get the FMJ instead as the FMJ have a reputation for better feeding in some semi-auto pistols.
Duno, I'm rather new to handgun loading so I'll ask you guys, In general, for reliability is the FMJ and better choice than the JHP in a 40 S&W /10MM or doesn't it matter.

Glockin26
08-19-2010, 22:59
If you haven't had any problems then why switch? Only reason i switched from MG JHP's to Xtreme copper plated is i get more bullets/dollar.

Boxerglocker
08-19-2010, 23:26
If you haven't had any problems then why switch? Only reason i switched from MG JHP's to Xtreme copper plated is i get more bullets/dollar.

You do realize however that in your switch you gave up what could be much more optimized accuracy in the MG JHP as opposed to the Xtreme FMJ.

May not mean much for you or me for that matter but may for others.

FLSlim
08-20-2010, 09:03
I'm with Glockin26, if you haven't had feed problems, why worry. I've never had a feed problem with either bullet type in my 40 or 10. There are other considerations that you might want to factor in when selecting bullet type, though, e.g., accuracy, cost, and lead exposure.

Bren
08-20-2010, 09:13
I've been shooting MG .40 180gr JHP without issues in my DW 10mm and CZ P06. I'm just about out of these bullets and I need to stock up. I was just going to order my same old JHP when it was recommended to me to get the FMJ instead as the FMJ have a reputation for better feeding in some semi-auto pistols.

I understand that was true well into the 1960s. Now? not so much.

Have you had a feeding problem? If not, why are you concerned?

PCJim
08-20-2010, 10:19