Which decapping rod for lee handgun dies? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Which decapping rod for lee handgun dies?


GlennP
08-22-2010, 13:44
I have 3 sets of lee handgun dies, all 4 die deluxe carbide sets. .38/9mm/45acp

I want to pick up a spare decapping rod just in case. I see 2 rods on midway; http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct/?productNumber=960503

and

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct/?productNumber=274540

The first one would make the most sense, but I'de like to confirm with the experts here. Which is the one that I need?

Thanks so much!
Glenn

P+P
08-22-2010, 14:13
The first one, it is for handgun dies and the other is for the universal decaping die and is longer... you want it to be flush with the top of the clamp nut....

unclebob
08-22-2010, 14:25
If it was me and if I had a universal decapping die or was thinking of getting one. Then I would get the universal decapping rod as the spare. That way if either one would break you would have a decapping and send the one that broke back and get a new one. Then replace it out when the new one comes back, if it was the sizer die. You would also have a spare decapping rod if you ever decide too reload for rifle.

WiskyT
08-22-2010, 14:41
I am also amazed at how easily these things break. But to me that is a bad thing for an "unbreakable" part. I do give 5 stars to Midway for having them though.

That's from one of the reviewers on the Midway sight. I've had the pin slide up in the collet, but never broken one with Lee dies. Some people can find a way to break anything, over and over.

For a couple of bucks, it's probably a good idea to tack one on to an order you are making anyway, and you do want the one from the first link, but I don't think you'll ever need it.

Uncle Don
08-22-2010, 15:37
I somewhat agree with Bob - but if you don't have a Universal decapping die, just get a spare for the handgun and have it handy to keep working while you send the broken in for replacement. If you do have Universal decapping die, just get one of each.

You can't really get spares for rifle since they have the expander and are caliber specific. BTW - I'm with Whisky, I've been using their dies since 1985 and haven't broken a decapper yet, but have pushed one or two up in the collet.

unclebob
08-22-2010, 16:17
You are right I forgot about the expander ball. Show how much I load for rifle anymore.
Thinking about it I would not even buy a spare. The rods every seldom brake and you can always pull a rod out of one of the other dies until you get a replacement if you should break one.

dudel
08-22-2010, 16:37
You are right I forgot about the expander ball. Show how much I load for rifle anymore.
Thinking about it I would not even buy a spare. The rods every seldom brake and you can always pull a rod out of one of the other dies until you get a replacement if you should break one.

On a Lee die, the only way I can see to break a decapping rod is to to have the collet too tight. Otherwise the decapping rod should slip up in the collet. Normally a sign of trying to decap a Berdan case. I've had a Lee decapping rod slide up several times; but I've never had one break. It's one tough rod. It can be used to drive out a stuck shell.

Now on threaded decap assemblies, RCBS and Forester come to mind, it's very possible to break the pin/rod.

Another vote for the Universal decapping die. My Lee one works fine.

unclebob
08-22-2010, 17:08
On a Lee die, the only way I can see to break a decapping rod is to to have the collet too tight. Otherwise the decapping rod should slip up in the collet. Normally a sign of trying to decap a Berdan case. I've had a Lee decapping rod slide up several times; but I've never had one break. It's one tough rod. It can be used to drive out a stuck shell.

Now on threaded decap assemblies, RCBS and Forester come to mind, it's very possible to break the pin/rod.

Another vote for the Universal decapping die. My Lee one works fine.

I have not broke any. But I have seen two or three that were either broke or bent.

Colorado4Wheel
08-22-2010, 17:31
If you have 3 sets of pistol dies don't you already have two spares? If you break one (very unlikely) you just take the one out of the other set and keep loading.

Uncle Don
08-22-2010, 20:10
You could certainly do that, but I was just thinking for the nominal cost of a single spare, it wouldn't be necessary to take apart anothr sizer. I didn't think you Dillon guys ever worried about spending money. :whistling: