New Guy here [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : New Guy here

dansjeep2000
08-28-2010, 08:35
First I would like to say THANK YOU for this fourm!

I am not only new to 10mm but new to reloading. The purchase of my G20 has made me realize reloading is the only way I can afford to shoot it.

What do you suggest for components to start out with? I am looking for both plinking and SD rounds. I just don't want to start out with a pile of the wrong stuff since I'm on a tight budget.

So far my research has pointed me to Starline brass for sure. Powder and bullet choice is alot harder with sooooo many variations out there.

Hogpauls
08-28-2010, 12:46
1st off welcome. :wavey: Like you I'm somewhat new to reloading and just came back to having a mighty 10 gun, the 20SF. Also like you I'm on a very strict budget so every buck has to count.

For reloading I use Starline brass, CCI primers, Berry's bullets and Unique for powder. Although Unique might not be the best for 10mm performance it does fine for plinking, and I use it for my .45 and .40 as well. For the nuclear backwoods round the 10 gets the Starline, Double Tap WFNGC 200 grn, CCI 350's and 800X.

I don't use the 20SF for HD duty, that gets relegated to the G30. But I have the Win Silvertips 175 grn. and Hornady 180 grn XTPs and they both perform pretty well.

_The_Shadow
08-28-2010, 15:14
Dansjeep2000, welcome to GlockTalk! I have been loading for the 10mm since the 1990's, I have used many pounds of Blue Dot for the 10mm with very accurate performance. It also allowed me to load 9mm, 38Spl, 357mag, 44 Spl & Mag, 40S&W, 357Sig, 9x25Dillon, 12ga, some 30-30Win...so with this spectrum it has been a mainstay for me.

Most of the mid range and slower pistol powders like the load to be fairly full to provide the best burn characterisics/performance. Another benifit to the fuller case of powder is usually if for some reason a double drop of powder is done it will overflow and more than likely be seen.