Just for fun...317 in 3" or 2.5" model 642 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Just for fun...317 in 3" or 2.5" model 642

seamaster
08-28-2010, 19:43
Once again I reached the point were I'm bored with the guns I have so it's time to get a new one! My purpose is mostly for fun on the range but like every gun it's there for SD in case it's needed.

So, I owned a 642 but sold it about a year ago when someone made me an offer I couldn't refuse...Yes I regret it!

Now I'm thinking of getting another light weight J-frame but I'm open to the 22 lr model 317 in either snub nose or the 3" kit gun version and I also think the new 2.5" 642 is interesting.

Who has shot the 317 in different barrel lengths and has anyone shot the new 2.5" model 642? I could use your advice & wisdom to help me choose.

Thanks,
Seamaster

DJ Niner
08-28-2010, 21:41
I have no experience with the 642, but I have owned and shot both the 2" and 3" S&W 317s. The 2" is a better choice for the person who owns a similar .38 for defensive purposes and wants a sub-caliber trainer or practice gun; with its short sight radius, fixed sights, and light-colored front/rear sights, consistent accuracy on anything but large targets is difficult to achieve. After I shot my 2" 317 a bit and discovered it wouldn't shoot exactly to point-of-aim at 10 yards with any .22 ammo I could find, I sold it. It simply could not fill the role of pocket plinker/hiking weapon that I was looking for.