Shotgun Guages? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Shotgun Guages?

GlockFan624
09-13-2010, 20:17
Hey everyone, I'm new to shotguns and I have question for you. Can you guys explain each shotgun gauge and the primary role of each? For example, what is the weakest shotgun gauge that would be suitable for home defense?

Please list any good information you may have.

Thanks!

sambeaux2249
09-13-2010, 22:00
Hey everyone, I'm new to shotguns and I have question for you. Can you guys explain each shotgun gauge and the primary role of each? For example, what is the weakest shotgun gauge that would be suitable for home defense?

Please list any good information you may have.

Thanks!

Woof! That's a lot of info you asked for in a very short post. LOL

Well.... I'll try to get you started, I'm sure others will explain more and better.

Okay, the smaller the number, the larger the bore is and the more shot it can send downrange. There are/were a *LOT* of shotgun gauges, but for modern purposes, we are pretty much limited to:

10, 12, 16, 20, 28, and .410

10 gauge is the largest, is almost dead, and almost strictly used for hunting
12 gauge is by far the most common in general, and the most common for defense.
16 gauge is largely defunct, and mostly used for upland game
20 gauge is the next most common after 12 gauge, at least for defense.
.410 is probably too small to be seriously considered for defense.

For home defense, I would recommend either a 12 gauge using reduced recoil loads or a 20 gauge. In 12 gauge, I'd recommend 00 buck. I'm not sure what's available for 20 gauge, but I'd look for something around 1 buck.

There are some .410 shells that might be suitable for defense. I'd look at 00 or 000 buck in a 3" shell. It's about half the payload of a 12 gauge, but about the same velocity.

I hope this helps some?

Sam

aippi
09-13-2010, 22:31