G23 Breach Face...should I be concerned? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : G23 Breach Face...should I be concerned?

art g
10-10-2010, 22:57
Just picked up a very nice Generation 2 Glock 23. Pistol is in like new condition except the breach face is covered in what appears to be some kind of tool marks... or? Should I be concerned about this or just fire away and forget it? Have owned many Glocks but never have I run in to anything like this. Any advice would be appreciated. Below is a pic Thank you, artgsc@aol.com
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4126/5070756214_ba45624d96_m.jpg

wcmaas
10-12-2010, 00:49
I've got some that look like that too. Wondered the same thing as you. Doesn't seem to make any difference - they all shoot fine and are boring reliable.

Brian Lee
10-12-2010, 01:24
I'm a machinist among other things, and that does not look like any kind of original machining marks to me at all.

My guess is that the back end of the barrel has been rubbing the breech face pretty hard and making this happen. This is the kind of galling action that occurs in industrial tooling whenever you have two metal parts rubbing hard with little or no lubrication, and with no difference in the hardness of the two metal parts. Whenever two steel parts are about the same hardness, however hard or soft that is, this is the kind of marks that result from rubbing them together too hard. Making one part of a metal that is significantly harder than the other generally stops it from happening.

I had always assumed that Glock would make the breech face and the barrel at different hardness's to prevent this problem, but maybe not. It could also be that an aftermarket barrel was used which had a hardness matching that of the breech.