Size new brass? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Size new brass?


eman308
10-12-2010, 21:40
Like it says, do I need to run new Starline brass through my sizing die prior to loading?
Thanks,E.

Kegs
10-13-2010, 06:55
I size all brass before I load them.

What do you other guys do?

eman308
10-13-2010, 09:29
Yeah, reloading is all about OCD!:supergrin: I figured it was a good idea.
E.

10mmbob
10-13-2010, 10:11
After loading 100 rds. of .308 with new brass without resizing it first,then not having them chamber, then using a bullet puller for an hour, I learned my lesson the hard way. I resize every piece of brass that I load, pistol or rifle. Good Luck!

Hogpauls
10-13-2010, 10:49
Yep, size all new brass. You might get away with it in a stock barrel but if you are running an aftermarket maybe not. Just go with the flow with your OCD, it's worked for me.

_The_Shadow
10-13-2010, 13:54
I size all my new brass, with careful inspection for shell holder fit and especially the flash hole being open.

100% reliability has been my goal for over 30+ years of successful handloading custom amunition...10mm since March 1990!

ecmills
10-16-2010, 21:05
do I need to run new Starline brass?
Thanks,E.
What does your case gauge say? ;)

I load on a 650 with a casefeeder, so it would be a LOT more work to skip sizing. But if you load 15+ cases and they all fit a case gauge (or drop in your barrel) freely... I might run with loading unsized new brass.

remat
10-16-2010, 21:09
You guys size your new 10mm brass? I don't size any of my NEW straight wall pistol brass. What am I missing?

_The_Shadow
10-16-2010, 21:45
Uniformity for best neck tension, open flash holes...there have been several which were not thru and thru even in factory loaded stuff. At least if the flash hole is not open you will find it by running the depriming pin thru them.

Maine1
10-17-2010, 00:41
Listen to shadow. I size mine as well. I have had new brass a bullet will slide right into before it is sized. Do what you know you are supposed to do.

whenmonkeysfly
10-17-2010, 06:59
Resize ALL my brass too. I agree with Shadow, Kegs, et al. ....

Taterhead
10-17-2010, 15:16
Yep. In addition to the other inspections, I also run new brass through the resizing die. Some of the cases come not perfectly round. Shipping & handling can take a toll on brass. That is not always easy to detect with a visual inspection. I measure for length after sizing. It is a relatively quick step that adds that small bit of quality assurance.

I've often wondered if the factory shops do the same.

crsuribe
10-18-2010, 09:01
Do you guys trim it too? Or, when do you trim your brass?

Taterhead
10-19-2010, 20:38
Do you guys trim it too? Or, when do you trim your brass?

I trim rifle brass, but I do not trim 10mm brass. I've noticed that the mouth will not always be perfectly square. One side may be slightly taller than the other and, obviously, trimming can square things. It just hasn't seemed like something overly critical for me to do for pistol cases.

I have also never needed to trim 10mm cases due to stretching beyond specs. They seem to actually shrink over time instead.

whenmonkeysfly
10-20-2010, 07:48
Do you guys trim it too? Or, when do you trim your brass?

I agree with Taterhead. I don't trim 10mm/9x25 Dillon brass, but trim rifle (.308 & .223).