Keeping HD shotgun loaded? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Keeping HD shotgun loaded?

CourtCop
10-17-2010, 10:03
My wife just bought me a Remington 870 Synthetic and as I am new to shotguns I would like to know how all of you keep yours loaded for that "bump in the night" scenario.

Should it be:
A)chamber loaded, magazine loaded, safety on
B)chamber loaded, magazine loaded, safety off
C)chamber empty, magazine loaded, safety on
D)chamber empty, magazine loaded, safety off

I am leaning toward "C"

I should mention I will also be using a trigger lock until I can pick up a better means of securing it from my two little girls. The Mossberg Lock Box, ShotLock and TufLoc are all possibilities. Anybody have a preference there?

Thanks in advance guys.

Havasu
10-17-2010, 10:10
I'm a "D". Living alone matters.

KK40384
10-17-2010, 10:25
D as long as you don't have kids snooping around that could get a hold of it.

bklynpete
10-17-2010, 11:07
OK, I've never owned a HD shotgun, actually the only one I have is a Stoeger that I used for Cowboy action shooting. I would think choice A, but I see alot of keeping the chamber empty on posts. Why? I wouldn't think of keeping my HD weapon with an empty chamber. Just want to know the reasoning behind this. I of course don't have kids in my home.

Pete

aippi
10-17-2010, 11:07
D - I kept weapons this way for my entire adult life. I never used a trigger locking device as we kept the Master bedroom door locked and had a lock on the bedroom closet. These were quality dead bolt locks. Our children were not allowed in our bedroom and the door was locked when we were not present as was the closet. Both of us carried and my duty weapon was hanging on a peg in a duty belt in the closet. Of course when home at night the doors were unlocked as a weapon is of no use if it can not be deployed when needed.