Hornady Ammo? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Hornady Ammo?

Shenron
10-19-2010, 15:40
I have a Glock 22 RTF and I work as a armed Security Officer. I usually carry Winchester Ranger T-Series in 165gr.

The other day I stumbled across the Hornady's Website and their XTP and Critical Defense ammo really caught my eye.

I was set on the Critical Defense ammo because the concept seems solid and the grain matches what I am used to shooting. So I was going to by a case but then I started to read that they are prone to misfires and have some serious feeding problems. Is this true?

Should I go with the XTP's or a different round from a different company?

Thanks in advance.

BadAndy
10-19-2010, 15:49
I haven't shot any .40 XTPs but the ones I've loaded for my 9 have all fed well and have decent penetration and expansion. Hornady makes great bullets.

DocKWL
10-19-2010, 16:43
I have a Glock 22 RTF and I work as a armed Security Officer. I usually carry Winchester Ranger T-Series in 165gr.

The other day I stumbled across the Hornady's Website and their XTP and Critical Defense ammo really caught my eye.

I was set on the Critical Defense ammo because the concept seems solid and the grain matches what I am used to shooting. So I was going to by a case but then I started to read that they are prone to misfires and have some serious feeding problems. Is this true?

Thanks in advance.

Read THIS (http://www.firearmstactical.com/tacticalbriefs/2006/04/main.htm) for information on the Critical Defense line of ammunition. As an opinion, I like the XTP.

Shenron
10-19-2010, 22:28
Wow, well that information answers that! I am glad I found that out before I placed my order. So I am kind of stuck. The Hornady 155gr. ammo was not listed in the preferred list. Is there opinions out there?

I guess here are my new options;

Hornady XTP 155gr.

Federal HST 180gr. (How does the 165 perform?)

Barnes/Corbon DPX 155gr.

SDGlock23
10-20-2010, 09:26