Want to hunt - what to do? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Want to hunt - what to do?

Tvov
10-22-2010, 06:59
Hello all. I made a thread last week about using a 20g pump gun for deer hunting... I had some miscommunication with a friend, and thought I was invited to hunt with him this fall. He just bought land with a cabin, and this year wants to hunt it alone to check things out. I also believe that I am not mistaken in thinking that he doesn't want to take a "newbie" out hunting, and basically have to babysit / guide him, especially on property that is new to him.

So right now that option is out, and I am figuring I may wait until next fall to hunt, unless something pops up in the meantime.

Anyways... in talking to some people about hunting, I am getting conflicting information (as usual). I am just looking to have my "first outing" hunting. I honestly don't expect to get a deer. I have never done it before, I just want to at least taste the experience. I don't expect someone to "guide" me, although that would be nice. Even if it just means walking into the woods for 10 minutes with a gun and then walking back out.

I have been target shooting for years. I in no way consider myself an "expert", but I know my way around guns.

More than a few people I've talked to are saying things like:

- you need a rifle with scope, at least 30-30, preferably 30-06. New England is all woods, at least where I'd expect to be hunting. I just don't see me having 100 yard shots in heavy woods. What is wrong with a shotgun? What is wrong with open sites? I have a 20g pump gun that I am confident with. Do I need to buy a potentially expensive gun just for my first time out?