Outshooting your gun.....visual/mechanical limitations [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Outshooting your gun.....visual/mechanical limitations

wrx04
10-26-2010, 14:01
Let me start off by saying i am a decent, but by no means good shot (better than 95% of the people at the range, but thats not saying much). I am rather new to shooting (~2years), and have been reading a lot of threads on here about the inherent accuracy of certain production/semi-custom guns (i.e. the 1.5" at 50 yards baers, etc...) and it seems to me that NO ONE can outshoot even the better production guns. I know there are guys with incredible skills, but it seems the limitations of your vision (even the best vision capable by a human) is the limiting factor....period. Do these guys just "know" where to aim, because i know (scientifically) they cant see the target with enough detail to actually aim at a small 1" point.

These guys are talking an area under 2" at 50 YARDS!!! Just think about it this way....to see 20/20, you need to read letters that are slightly over .5" at 20 FEET. 20/20 is considered great vision....the physiological limit of a human retina is 20/8 (which is nearly impossible)....so lets assume a .25" target at 20 feet is perfect vision. That means there is no way any human could possibly shoot a 1.5" group at 50yards unless they are lucky or have extremely good insticts....are there guys out there that can shoot that good?

Why is everyone so concerned about the gun? I'm pretty sure a skilled shooter will shoot equally well with two totally different guns as long as they arent total POS's. Right?

Carrots
10-26-2010, 14:16
The distance of the target is actually irrelevant because your front sight is always the same distance away and that is where you should be focusing on. <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>

wrx04
10-26-2010, 14:28