Glock 19 shoots high and left [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Glock 19 shoots high and left

davidalyn
10-28-2010, 16:09
JR, I just picked a slightly used 2009 Glock 19. Took it to the range and @ 20 yards the gun shoots 8 inches left and 6 inches high. It shoots pretty good 3 to 4 inch groups, just high left. My 17 and 34, both hit point of aim point of impact. I am beginning to think I know why it was in the gun store.

I know many times these type of events are caused by shooter error. I am not saying I am a great shooter, but I have carried a USPSA "A" Classification for many years, I am a certified firearms instructor for a Federal Contractor who has carried Glock 22s for about 10 years, so I am not new to Glocks.

Anyway, have you ran across this type of problem before?

Thanks
Dave from SouthEast Idaho

JR
10-28-2010, 16:26
Ok, I will bypass the "shooting skills drill". Lets focus on the gun.
You need to verify the slide & barrel are locked up properly. When a cartridge is chambered, the barrel hood must be flush with the top of the slide. Sometimes a swelled cartridge (reload) will stick in the chamber and hold the gun slightly out of battery. When the gun is fired, (out of battery) the round will shoot high.

davidalyn
10-28-2010, 16:38
Ok, I will bypass the "shooting skills drill". Lets focus on the gun.
You need to verify the slide & barrel are locked up properly. When a cartridge is chambered, the barrel hood must be flush with the top of the slide. Sometimes a swelled cartridge (reload) will stick in the chamber and hold the gun slightly out of battery. When the gun is fired, (out of battery) the round will shoot high.

I put about 70 rounds through the thing and every round was high/left.

My guess is I have a lock up issue.

Thanks
Dave

davidalyn
10-29-2010, 20:04