Casting question. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Casting question.

Reagan40
10-29-2010, 20:37
I tried the search feature without any luck. I am sure this has been asked before, but I am thinking about starting to cast my own bullets. I have been reloading successfully for a couple of years. First, I would want to start casting for my S&W.357 magnum revolver. I am sure it would be fine. Then I thought about casting .45acp and 9mm since that is what I shoot the most. The problem is I just have this fear that shooting lead bullets out of my HK USP .45 and my S&W M&P 9 will hurt the guns. Is this fear justified? Should I worry about using cast lead bullets with an auto loader?

GioaJack
10-29-2010, 20:57
The only concern with shooting lead, (given reasonable velocity limitations) is the Glock OEM barrel controversy.

In truth God invented lead specifically to be formed into bullets and shot out of guns... all other uses are simply byproducts of it's intended use.

Get a copy of Lyman's book on casting, it will answer a great majority of your questions... and start scrounging wheel weights. Good luck.

Jack

Reagan40
10-29-2010, 21:02
Thanks Jack. I will get the Lyman book and begin studying. The next question is, should I really add one more time consuming activity to this hobby? My wife is going to dump hot lead on me when she realizes that I will be spending more time on the shooting hobby.:supergrin:

GioaJack
10-29-2010, 21:13
Well, let me put it to you this way, I've been casting and loading for over 45 years... and I have three ex-wives.

You're gonna have to make up your own mind... for me it's been worth it. :supergrin:

Depending on your casting set up, the location of your equipment etc., a casting session can be as short as 2 hours to produce a week or two worth of bullets, (depending on how much you shoot), or it can last a whole day and knock out a month or two worth.