I'm a little confused here [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : I'm a little confused here

circa81
11-01-2010, 21:38
From what I've been reading about the new high power cartridges that can be used in regular sized semi auto pistols, the .50 GI is supposed to blow everything else out of the water. But looking at these stats...

.400 corbon: 588*ft·lb

.50 GI: 591*ft·lbf

10mm: 750*ft·lbf

.357 sig 614*ft·lbf

The 10mm still is far and away the king. Even the .357 Sig is more powerful then the .50 GI. Is there more to these statistics then what's given?

Glock19Fan
11-01-2010, 22:18
I think they are basically trying to put out that its the biggest, heaviest bullet, .50GI aside, that is commonly available in popular handguns.

While other loadings may have more energy, it still has the largest diameter, and heaviest bullets availble. And I am sure with the right bullets, expansion and penetration should be impressive.

Im no expert here, just my thoughts on the subject.

BOGE
11-01-2010, 23:12
A .219 Zipper has the same energy as a 50-70 Gov`t. Would you shoot a buffalo with a .219 Zipper?

Avoid the energy pitfall.

circa81
11-01-2010, 23:38
So what's the most important statistic?

RedHaze
11-02-2010, 00:21
A combination of expansion to damage vitals and enough penetration to reach them. But more important than those is your ability to put the round where it needs to go when it needs to go there. IMO

NonPCnraRN
11-02-2010, 01:57
So what's the most important statistic?