Question for the 1911 fans [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Question for the 1911 fans

snwbrdr202
11-12-2010, 17:06
Hey fellas, I posted this is the Glock section and I wanted to hear opinions from the 1911 fans. I have 600 bucks that I have saved up for a few months now to buy a new pistol. I am relatively new to the world of hand guns, but I got my first a few months ago; a Glock 19. I love the Glock, and I love 9mm, but I wanted to get something with a little more power. I am not talking stepping up to a Desert Eagle or anything. Ideally I want to get a .40. I have narrowed down my choices to two pistols: a Glock 22 or a Springfield Mil-Spec 1911. I know both are reliable and durable firearms, but I am afraid that after becoming familiar with my Glock 19 that cleaning and maintaining a 1911 might be a little too much. Does anyone own a Springfield and Glock? If so, is the Springfield THAT MUCH harder to clean than a Glock? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Bottom line:

Which gun would you choose, and why?

Thanks in advance for any help gents.

BuckyP
11-12-2010, 17:17
I guess it depends what you are looking to do with it. Under your circumstances, I'd suggest the 1911. I believe variety is the spice of life, so since you already have one GLOCK get something different. Cleaning and maintenance isn't that much harder. Just have to be careful inserting the slide stop. :wow:

Indymann99
11-12-2010, 18:22
+1 on the 1911, everybody should own a part of HISTORY.

I have a G26 and it is a fantastic tool... laser guide rod, night sights, G19 mags for capacity, I dont think it NEEDs to ever be cleaned and NO sharp edges! perfect CCW tool I could not ask for more.

BUT I have much more FUN shooting my 1911 (SA Loaded) with the crisp trigger and better pointing. JMB a job well done.
And if you like to tinker there are prob one thousand, nine hundred, and eleven aftermarket parts to play with.
:wavey:

bikerpipes
11-12-2010, 19:10