Springfield TRP Operator .45 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Springfield TRP Operator .45

u4ea
11-14-2010, 17:03
I have been looking for a 1911 for a while now. I have no knowledge of them, and I don't want to buy one and find out I bought the "wrong" one, so I haven't picked one up. I am bored with my Glocks and want something that shoots nice but doesn't look like a cheap toy. Is the TRP Operator a high quality 1911? I was told they go for around $1300 used. Any idea how much they are new, and how hard they are to come by?

I want the gun for my home, and to take to the range on infrequent occasions. I don't shoot in matches or anything competitive at all. I just want a gun that looks nice and I can have for 50 years. I have heard over and over about how much tweaking a 1911 needs out of the box. Is this just Glock people trying to bring the gun down, or do these guns really not come ready to shoot like a Glock does? I've only ever owned Glocks, so I am new to this. I don't wanna spend $1600 and find out I could have had everything I needed for 1/2 the price. I think the TRP Operator may be the gun for me, but I don't know what else is out there. Is the TRP Operator too much gun for someone who will probably only bring it out once a month?

Hokie1911
11-14-2010, 17:11
Is the TRP Operator too much gun for someone who will probably only bring it out once a month?

Yes. Save some cash and get a STI Trojan. Great gun. Less money.

u4ea
11-14-2010, 17:13
I was looking at the Range Officer review on here and I like the looks of that gun too. Is that a better purchase for someone like me?

rsxr22
11-14-2010, 17:23
I feel like Hokies suggestion is one of the best. The Range Officer looks very appealing, the deal breaker for me is the lack of front strap checkering. I have one 1911 without it, so i use grip tape, it does the job but just isnt checkering

Hokie1911
11-14-2010, 17:23