Question .40 S&W combination [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Question .40 S&W combination

Paul_J
11-15-2010, 07:41
I am new to reloading and have a question.

I was given a very old Reeding C frame single stage press from a family member. (has 7-1) on the side. Really heavy. I purchased a set of lee dies for the .40S&W and a Lee Auto Prime.

Before I started loading I sat down with a friend that has been loading .40 for a many years and had him teach me a few things. I brought my Lee .5 cc dipper and we weighed the amount of one full dipper using Bullseye powder and it was 5gr. on the money. Using the Lee chart I can load 165gr. and 180gr. using the dipper and bullseye powder. I loaded 50 rounds using this formula and 165gr fmj (from Zero) and the results at the range were good. No tumbling and seamed fairly accurate. They weren't as powerful as some factory loaded federals that I brought to compare.

So my question. Anyone see any issues with what I'm doing? This formula seams to work well with my G23. I'm on a budget so a real fancy setup is not possible right now.

WiskyT
11-15-2010, 08:23
No, nothing wrong with what your doing. I get people started like that all the time. You can make your own dippers to if you have access to a scale. You file down pistol cases until they throw the amount you're looking for. I crazy glue them to a bamboo skewer for a handle and use a fine point sharpie to lable the dipper as to what it throws.

The only way you could screw up is if you use the wrong dipper. Don't bother buying the kit because they are too far apart in size for pistol. They come in 0.3, 0.5 and 0.7. the 0.3 is too small for most things, the 0.7 is too big for most things, and the 0.5 you already have. I like to use 32ACP case to make dippers with as they seem to be the right diameter for just about any pistol charge.

Stand buy for all the gear junkies to tell you all of the things you need to go out and buy...

IndyGunFreak
11-15-2010, 08:31