Case trimmer for 44 mag. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Case trimmer for 44 mag.

GlockMonk
11-15-2010, 11:01
Howdy all, I'm just getting into reloading the 44 mag for my Ruger Redhawk with a 5.5 inch barrel.

I'm using Missouri Bullet Company's 240gr Keith bullets at 18 brinnell, Alliant 2400, Winchester LPP, and assorted once fired brass.

The once fired brass that I've collected so far all vary in case lengths. I'm thinking, it might create a problem when I seat the bullet, as the case must be crimped exactly at the cannelure of the bullet. And the cannelure may not line up exactly with the case mouth, since the brass varies in length.

If so which economical trimmer do you recommend. I'll only be reloading about 100 rounds at a time, so high volume is not neccessary.

Thanks in advance,

GlockMonk

frankt
11-15-2010, 11:50
If you want to trim them, I would recommend the Lee hand held case trimmer and .44 case length gauge.

I can also tell you that in 30+ years of reloading I have never trimmed any pistol case.

Good Luck

Boxerglocker
11-15-2010, 14:04
Hey Pye, How's it going?

Uncle Don
11-15-2010, 15:21
I'm with Frankt - there are a whole lot of things in reloading in which require or you can befefit from detail, but trimming handgun cases is not one of them. Any amount of time you spend doing that is time you'll never get back.

GLShooter
11-15-2010, 15:30
I'd step up and buy the Forster Trimmer set up. Just starting out in reloading leaves a lot of life down the road. I bought mine in 1976 and it is still trimming those cases onesey twosey for me.

I have bigger more expensive powered Gracey's and Dillon's but the Forster steps up for things like the 6 PPC or any revolver like your 44 mags and some custom 357/38 Special stuff. I have a power adapter for the Forster that is readily available now and they are a great help even on 100cases..

Greg

GlockMonk
11-15-2010, 19:29
Hey Pye, How's it going?