Remington 1100 feeding problem [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Remington 1100 feeding problem

DRAGON1970
11-26-2010, 22:33
I have an 1100, 18" barrel, extended magazine tube, loading gate...etc. I have been shooting it in 3-gun for about 8 years. Suddenly it does not want to auto-load buckshot or slugs. Works fine with 3 dram birdshot.

This one has got me....1100's usually love heavy loads. Everything is clean, no broken parts.

Any ideas???

Nest
11-26-2010, 23:12
If I remember right 1100s have rubber o-rings on the bolt somewhere. These may be going bad. The higher pressures may be causing more movement in them than lighter loads, thus causing feeding issues with heavy loads.

aippi
11-26-2010, 23:55
Need more info. What is it doing? For example: Is the carrier just not raising up high enough for the breech bolt to pick up the round?

With some more information I may be able to help.

DRAGON1970
11-27-2010, 07:19
The next round from the carrier, is stubbing on the end of the carrier,

byf43
11-27-2010, 08:42
The next round from the carrier, is stubbing on the end of the carrier,

I'd first check the O-ring on the magazine tube to see if it's in good shape.
I'd then inspect the carrier assembly spring and the carrier assembly latch.
The shell latch (proper name??) could be 'hanging up' from some debris getting lodged behind it.

ScrappyDoo
11-27-2010, 11:22
My only experience with a Rem 1100 was one of the original ones... my best friend's (step)Dad is a retired high-ranking LEO [man I guess kids of LEO captain's/chiefs/ettc stick together lol] and he bought for himself a Rem 1100 back when they were fairly new and the hot thing to have... It is a longer barrel, mid to mid+ 20's and real nice wood. That thing shot like a DREAM for a few 100 rounds of mixed birdshot we fed it during an impromptu, hand-thrown-clay session on a labor day? trip to some shotgun range off of 78 in Hunderton, 2008.