help choosing a powder [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : help choosing a powder

stormcaller111
11-27-2010, 21:41
i am a novice reloader. w231 and titegroup for 9mm and 45acp. i just ordered a glock 20sf and want to load relatively hot loads. i plan to get a .40 barrel to plink with. i see 800x, bluedot and aa #7 listed as some favorites. can anyone shed some light on which is better for a novice reloader and also, which is more cost effective? i understand starting light and working my way hotter, safety first.

DWARREN123
11-28-2010, 02:52
I picked IMR 800-X because from the data on Hodgdons web site it shows a lower chamber pressure for FPS. I like to keep the chamber pressure as low as possible with warm loads.
I picked Longshot for the same reason for 40 S&W reloading and am very happy with it.

steve4102
11-28-2010, 05:28
Of the three powders you have listed I like #7 the best. It is a fine ball powder and meters great. 800-X does not meter well at all and unless you plan on weighing each charge it's a poor choice in my book. Blue Dot is very popular in the 10MM, but I've found it to have way to much flash for me. I've also found DB like to be run up towards the top for best performance.

11-28-2010, 05:37
800-X meters well for me. I use a Redding BR3 powder measure and it's spot on charge after charge. 800-X also seem to give higher velocity with most bullets and I've used AA#7 for years.

Meathead9
11-28-2010, 06:47
I would start with Longshot. It meters well, and works well with pretty much all 10mm bullet weights. Longshot will get you some stout loads too. I also use 800X, Blue Dot and recently played around with W231.

stormcaller111
11-28-2010, 09:00
thanks for the help guys. i think i will try both 800x and bluedot. i had planned on hand weighing the hotter loads anyways, just to be extra safe so 800x wont be a problem.

MakeMineA10mm
12-01-2010, 18:36