Having problems with my mossberg [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Having problems with my mossberg

dc2integra
11-29-2010, 19:35
im new to shotguns i purchased a mossberg 500 a few months ago ihave put about 300 rounds through it.I have had it jam on me about 5 times.The shell will be in the chamber ready to go and pull the trigger but nothing the forend was all the way forward all the time s too.Coud it be that i half racked it those few times that failed on me.I also had a friend shoot it and the same happened to him.Ive shot a few shotguns before and have never experienced this.Any help will be appreiated

collim1
11-29-2010, 20:15
need more info to be sure

was the primer dented?
happen with more than one type of ammo?

TexasNativeDRJH
11-29-2010, 20:23
Mine sometime jams with cheap birdshot.. Do you have a side saddle installed? Another jamming issue I had involved the replacement ejector screw for a side saddle. I ground the head down a little and no more problems

mixflip
11-29-2010, 21:46
I know this isnt the problem your having but I figured I 'd share a 590 story. My old 590 developed a weak safety button spring. This caused the gun to put itself on safe after ever shot so my 2nd shot would not fire.

Back on topic, maybe your problem is a bad firing pin or its the ammo? I am no armorer but that would be the first place I'd look???

dc2integra
11-30-2010, 15:51
Mine sometime jams with cheap birdshot.. Do you have a side saddle installed? Another jamming issue I had involved the replacement ejector screw for a side saddle. I ground the head down a little and no more problems
It does only happen when i use cheap birdshot.I buy the 100 round winchester pack for 20$ at walmart.But my brother also has a mossberg 500 but an older model he bought like 7 years ago and it has never jammed on him and he also uses the cheap birdshot.I also noticed that when the forend is racked all the way the "elevator" sticks out about a 1/4 inch

dc2integra