Question with berrys bullets, AA7 powder [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Question with berrys bullets, AA7 powder

xkon
12-22-2010, 20:42
I am using berry's 180grain plated bullets, No. 7 powder, and WPL primers. According to the modern reloading manual 2, they can be loaded from 9.9 to 11 grains of powder and should be loaded to an OAL of 1.260.

This is my first time reloading and I have a few questions. I made a batch of 30 bullets to try out using the dillon square deal. First question being the OAL. It said it should be made to a MINIMUM of 1.260. Now the question is, if the bullets i made are about 1.265-1.269, is that acceptable?

Second question, when I first read the manual, I thought it said a minimum powder charge of 9.0 grains, not 9.9 grains. So i loaded the bullets to about 9.5 grains to start with. Will these bullets I made still be safe to fire with about .5 grains less than the min starting powder?

Third question, a few of the primers are slightly bulging from the bottom of the brass, are they okay to fire?

Along the same lines, one of the primers went into a piece of brass sideways. How do I go about this? Should i spray wd-40 on the primer and let it sit for an hour or so? Then use a bullet puller to get the powder and bullet off. And can that primer sprayed in wd-40 be thrown out?

Thanks in advance. There is a lot that goes into reloading and i'm trying to figure it all out.

steve4102
12-22-2010, 23:18
It said it should be made to a MINIMUM of 1.260. Now the question is, if the bullets i made are about 1.265-1.269, is that acceptable?

1.260 is the Max OAL according to SAAMI. 1.265-1.269 will not heart anything as far as pressure goes, but they may not feed worth a ****.