making ladies feel more comfortable and welcome [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : making ladies feel more comfortable and welcome

Matthew Courtney
12-28-2010, 04:55
I am an NRA Certified Instructor, Training Counselor, Range Owner, and Gun Club Membership Chairman, as well as Founder and President of Louisiana Shooters Unlimited, a non-profit educational organization that promotes firearms safety and marksmanship. I am also the chairman of the shooting sports committee for Calcasieu Area Council(BSA). I am trying to identify things that we can do that would make women feel more comfortable with increasing their participation in the shooting sports.

While we have had some success in getting our male/female ratio in CHL courses near parity, our rate of female Instructor Candidate recruitment hovers near 15%. We are rapidly expanding the shooting sports program for Boy Scouts in our area, but the adult Girl Scout leaders we have approached have been very cool to the idea of getting their girls involved in the shooting sports.

What can we do to bring more women to events, and what can we do to make the events comfortable, relaxing, and enjoyable for them so that they want to continue to participate?

LilWolfess
12-28-2010, 10:10
Can you clarify a little better which crowd you're trying to appeal to?

At first glance, it seemed that you were trying to find ideas on how to get the Girl Scouts involved in shooting sports. However, a second take has me wondering if it's not the scouts themselves, but the leaders and other adult women that you are focused on.

Or, are you searching for a really general answer involving *both* scouts and their leaders?

Matthew Courtney
12-28-2010, 11:42
Can you clarify a little better which crowd you're trying to appeal to?