Springfield's RO- All hype? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Springfield's RO- All hype?

thatguybryan
01-05-2011, 10:32
First off, let me start by saying I'm not a 1911 expert by any means. In fact, quite the opposite is true; I'm looking into purchasing my first one here soon. I know I'm going to get a lot of negative feedback here soon :whistling: but here goes.

I've looked at a lot of different 1911's over the last few months (some of every major manufacturer) and I have shot quite a few.

I handled 2 RO's on Sunday and I have to say that I did not notice a difference in slide to frame fit between it and the NM loaded model. I haven't shot an RO (yet), but I think a lot of the hype surrounding the RO is just that-hype. Springfield put "budget TRP" in everyone's head and I think that it has fooled a lot of people.

Is there something I'm missing here? Maybe because I'm new to 1911's, but I have yet to see solid proof of the RO being any better than a loaded model. :dunno:

bobtail1911
01-05-2011, 10:35
Slide to frame fit is not an indication of whether or not a gun is going to be reliable or accurate. Almost all higher end guns have a very good slide to frame fit but that alone is not what makes a gun "good", however you might want to define that.

Big_Grumpy
01-05-2011, 10:57
I'm not sure what you mean by "hype", but if you look at it's features compared to similaly equipped 1911's, the price tag is really good. The only turn off to some seems to be the target sights and the parkerized finish.

You get a hand fit stainless match grade barrel, a forged frame and slide, adjustable aluminum trigger, beveled mag well, quality fit and finish, neat cocobolo grips, 3 mags, it's assembled stateside, and it's good to go out of the box. Springfield customer service (should you need it) is alleged to be excellent. Lifetime warranty.

http://www.springfield-armory.com/1911RO/1911RangeOfficer.htm