Full length rail question [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Full length rail question


maverick9614
01-06-2011, 03:46
I am thinking about putting a rifle length rail on a mid length gas system.

What is necessary to do this? I figure a low profile gas block and a free float handguard. What else should I know?

faawrenchbndr
01-06-2011, 05:10
Barrel nut normally needs to be removes as well as the gas block and flash hider.
Do you have the tools?
Will need a front sight.

Bushflyr
01-06-2011, 09:29
That's all you need. If you already have an A2 front sight just shave it down. Slap on the rail/ tube of your choice and figure out something to aim it with.

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b65/bushflyr/ARBuild/IMG_3743.jpg

JASV.17
01-06-2011, 10:02
DD has offering to allow a FSP.

mjkeat
01-06-2011, 10:42
Shave the original sight post into a low profile gas block then buy a set of Magpul Mbus flip ups.

maverick9614
01-07-2011, 12:39
I'd kind of like to keep the front sight post just in case I want to go back to stock.

I am thinking of a YHM rifle length FF hand guard and a specter low profile gas block.

Anyone have good, bad experience with this setup?

faawrenchbndr
01-07-2011, 14:55
YHM is a good deal for the money. You trade low cost for weight.