Reloading for a beginner [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Reloading for a beginner

Led Head
01-15-2011, 13:20
A dream of mine is coming true Friday. I will FINALLY be getting a G20! I am so excited I can't sleep. I know 10mm is one of the more harder to find rounds however and would like to get into reloading. Press/ beginner kit suggestions would be great as well. I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good book to get started on with reloading. I have absolutely no experience on the subject but think it would be a great stress reliever/money saver. I am a first year medical student so believe me when I say I have stress a plenty and money-- not any haha. I figured a few hours at the range on the weekends would help me "zero" back out. I also plan to use my G20 to hunt whitetail and hogs, but I will probably just buy jacketed hollow point full loads for that. I have a lot of down time in the summer and would like to start reloading some rounds. Any input is greatly appreciated!

Side note, I also have a Beretta 92 fs that I love shooting. I have seen mixed reviews, but is it economically sound to also reload 9mm? My friend is getting a G17 friday as well so I thought maybe he could use my press too to reload.

Thanks for your help!!!!!!

Esh
01-15-2011, 18:25
I bought the simple/cheap setup, and still use it 5 years later.

I use:
RCBS single stage press
RCBS dies
Lee scoop set
RCBS powder trickler
RCBS tray
Lee cutter/lock stud
RCBS shell plate
Balance beam scale

Besides consumables, that will pretty much get you going. I hand weigh all charges so I can't load in huge volumes, but I don't just go blasting at the range either so it works for me.

MinervaDoe
01-15-2011, 18:34
Side note, I also have a Beretta 92 fs that I love shooting. I have seen mixed reviews, but is it economically sound to also reload 9mm?