Help with Laptop reset. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Help with Laptop reset.


KING-PIN
01-18-2011, 22:35
Hello all, I have a question for the tech guys.

I have a Toshiba Satellite laptop that is about 1 1/2 years old. It is running Windows 7 Home Premium and I am trying to reformat it all and reset it back to like it was out of the box.

There is absolutely nothing saved on the laptop that I want to keep. In fact, I want it ALL gone. I only want it back the way it was when I first turned it on.

Now, unfortunately, I don't have the Windows 7 Reinstallation CD, but do have a reinstall CD that came with a desktop I have (which is pretty much junk. Victim of a malicious virus) but it is a Windows Vista reinstall CD. (I think Vista sucks, but am willing to deal with it on this laptop since I mainly use it to play DVDs and surf the web.)

Can I insert the Vista reinstall CD and run it to reinstall Windows and reformat the entire computer that way? I have the key code with the CD, but didn't want to turn my laptop into a paperweight.

Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks all for your time.

Rabbit994
01-18-2011, 22:44
EDIT: Reading is fundamental and apparently I can't do that. Do you have x64 version of Windows 7 or 32 bit? It's under Computer -> Right Click -> Properties

KING-PIN
01-18-2011, 22:54
EDIT: Reading is fundamental and apparently I can't do that. Do you have x64 version of Windows 7 or 32 bit? It's under Computer -> Right Click -> Properties

lol It's ok. We all have those days.

It is a 32 bit and the vista disk I have is 32 bit as well

:wavey:

IndyGunFreak
01-19-2011, 07:42
lol It's ok. We all have those days.

It is a 32 bit and the vista disk I have is 32 bit as well

:wavey:

A Win 7 key, is not going to activate Windows vista

IGF

McJohnny
01-19-2011, 07:49
Did the system come with a 'recovery' cd? If so, that should contain your operating system. If not, perhaps contacting Toshiba for a replacement CD would be the right direction.

Sgt. Schultz
01-19-2011, 08:05
Most systems have a hidden partition that contains the recovery data and it can usually be accessed by pressing a function key during the boot process.


If your system doesn't show which key to press try pressing F8 when your system starts and the “Advanced Boot option” will be shown. Look for the option “Repair your computer" this will be your system recovery tools. Just follow the menu on the screen, after a couple of steps you will see “System Recover Options”.


.

gemeinschaft
01-19-2011, 10:10
I would add that if you are open to changing OS on your laptop, maybe now is a good time to try Linux. I would recommend Ubuntu.

Sgt. Schultz is right about there being a recovery partition on many computers, but if that option is not going to work, I'd highly recommend Ubuntu.

If all you really do is watch DVDs and surf the web, you'll love Ubuntu. It is very stable, FREE and you don't have to worry about viruses.

handyman
01-19-2011, 16:37
On my laptops I had to make my cds to reinstall the software.

KING-PIN
01-19-2011, 16:58
Thanks guys for all the help.

I'll look into Ubuntu, but for now, I have vista installed and running smoothly.

Quick question, is it possible to install the same windows more than once? I kept having a hard time getting it to install because it kept hanging at the "Completing Installation" part of the process. So I googled it, figured out what to do to fix it, and finally got it installed.

When I kept attempting the install process, it kept giving me the option to choose which OS to boot from. Problem is, it had vista listed 3 or 4 times. Is it possible to install the same OS over and over or would the install that succeeded erase the failed attempts?

Sorry for not being overly familiar with the terminology to use. I'm new to this and trying to teach myself.

Thanks guys

KING-PIN
01-19-2011, 17:02
A Win 7 key, is not going to activate Windows vista

IGF

Sorry about the poor wording. I meant I have the key and disc for vista

:wavey:

gemeinschaft
01-19-2011, 17:06
Thanks guys for all the help.

I'll look into Ubuntu, but for now, I have vista installed and running smoothly.

Quick question, is it possible to install the same windows more than once? I kept having a hard time getting it to install because it kept hanging at the "Completing Installation" part of the process. So I googled it, figured out what to do to fix it, and finally got it installed.

When I kept attempting the install process, it kept giving me the option to choose which OS to boot from. Problem is, it had vista listed 3 or 4 times. Is it possible to install the same OS over and over or would the install that succeeded erase the failed attempts?

Sorry for not being overly familiar with the terminology to use. I'm new to this and trying to teach myself.

Thanks guys

Have you backed up your data? If so, you can format the drive which should leave you with only one installation of Vista. Otherwise, it sounds like you have installed multiple copies of the OS and in that case, you would get that message at startup.

Be sure to get your Data off before formatting your disk.

Once you have verified that you have good backups of your data, I would consider using DBAN (Derek's Boot And Nuke) to completely wipe your harddrive and start over. It's free to download and burn to a disc.

Of course, if you are relying on a recovery partition, please don't use DBAN. :whistling:

FWIW, most of us have learned from experience, either making mistakes ourselves or relying on the mistakes of others. By the end of this, you will no doubt be very familiar with how to install an OS.

KING-PIN
01-19-2011, 17:12
Have you backed up your data? If so, you can format the drive which should leave you with only one installation of Vista. Otherwise, it sounds like you have installed multiple copies of the OS and in that case, you would get that message at startup.

Be sure to get your Data off before formatting your disk.

Once you have verified that you have good backups of your data, I would consider using DBAN (Derek's Boot And Nuke) to completely wipe your harddrive and start over. It's free to download and burn to a disc.

Of course, if you are relying on a recovery partition, please don't use DBAN. :whistling:

FWIW, most of us have learned from experience, either making mistakes ourselves or relying on the mistakes of others. By the end of this, you will no doubt be very familiar with how to install an OS.

I didn't back anything up because I wanted a clean wipe and restart from day one. No nothing left on it except how it was from when i took it out of the box. Once I run DBAN, can I then install a clean OS?

Thanks

etravix
01-19-2011, 17:15
Most systems have a hidden partition that contains the recovery data and it can usually be accessed by pressing a function key during the boot process.


If your system doesn't show which key to press try pressing F8 when your system starts and the “Advanced Boot option” will be shown. Look for the option “Repair your computer" this will be your system recovery tools. Just follow the menu on the screen, after a couple of steps you will see “System Recover Options”.


.


What Sgt. Schultz said.

gemeinschaft
01-19-2011, 17:19
I didn't back anything up because I wanted a clean wipe and restart from day one. No nothing left on it except how it was from when i took it out of the box. Once I run DBAN, can I then install a clean OS?

Thanks

Yes, assuming that you are not relying on a recovery partition. If you have a physical CD that you have been using to install your OS, then go ahead and DBAN.

Once you use DBAN, your harddrive will be clean as a whistle and during your Windows installation, you should be prompted to format the drive. Go ahead and stick with default settings on this.

KING-PIN
01-19-2011, 17:22
Yes, assuming that you are not relying on a recovery partition. If you have a physical CD that you have been using to install your OS, then go ahead and DBAN.

Once you use DBAN, your harddrive will be clean as a whistle and during your Windows installation, you should be prompted to format the drive. Go ahead and stick with default settings on this.

So, just to clarify...

1. Run DBAN (go with default settings)

2. Go into BIOS and change the boot order and boot from the CD drive with the physical Cd that I have, and format.

3. Enjoy

Right?

gemeinschaft
01-19-2011, 18:27
So, just to clarify...

1. Run DBAN (go with default settings)

2. Go into BIOS and change the boot order and boot from the CD drive with the physical Cd that I have, and format.

3. Enjoy

Right?

1. Boot to DBAN - run it on Auto.

2. Then restart and boot to Vista CD.

You shouldn't have to change anything in the BIOS, usually F8 will get you to the One Time Boot Menu.

Of course, once you use DBAN, your BIOS should recognize there is nothing to boot to on your Hard Drive and default to booting off of the CD-ROM

GenX
01-19-2011, 18:37
So, just to clarify...

1. Run DBAN (go with default settings)

2. Go into BIOS and change the boot order and boot from the CD drive with the physical Cd that I have, and format.

3. Enjoy

Right?

I would be interested in knowing how long DBAN took and what size drive. It was over an hour on a 20GB drive I did recently. I'm guessing hardware was the weak link.

KING-PIN
01-19-2011, 20:02
I would be interested in knowing how long DBAN took and what size drive. It was over an hour on a 20GB drive I did recently. I'm guessing hardware was the weak link.

I'll let you know

:wavey:

KING-PIN
01-19-2011, 20:02
1. Boot to DBAN - run it on Auto.

2. Then restart and boot to Vista CD.

You shouldn't have to change anything in the BIOS, usually F8 will get you to the One Time Boot Menu.

Of course, once you use DBAN, your BIOS should recognize there is nothing to boot to on your Hard Drive and default to booting off of the CD-ROM

Here goes nothing.

Thanks a ton

KING-PIN
01-19-2011, 21:14
Well, I give up. I absolutely cannot get the computer to boot from DBAN on startup. I've tried everything I can think of. Nothing doing.

It's ok. I got back to the boot manager and now there is only one OS listed which is Vista. I'm assuming that when I successfully installed it, that all the other patrial failed installs were erased.

As much as I would like to run DBAN and get a copy of windows 7 to install, I guess that will have to wait. I reformatted the drive so I guess that'll have to do for now.

Thanks guys. If you have any other suggestions, feel free to throw them out there. I'm open to anything.

KING-PIN
01-19-2011, 21:20
Actually, now that I think about it, how can I tell if the drives were successfully formatted or not? I'm sure that's a dumb question but is there anything I can look at or anything that would be missing on the computer if it has been?

Forgive my ignorance.

Rabbit994
01-19-2011, 21:49
Compeltely formated drive will be that. Reformated and blank. If partitions weren't created, Windows will want you to partition it. If partitions were, no data should be listed.