Suggest a sling, (not sure what I need) [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Suggest a sling, (not sure what I need)

catalyst686
01-20-2011, 22:02
I want a sling that would mainly be used at the range. I'm really unfamiliar with slings so help me out! I've checked a few out and like the "multi-mission" slings, it seems like they would serve their purpose well. I obviously want something sturdy that isn't going to break. I don't know if there is a correct term for this, but I think it would be a good idea to have a sling that can be used to carry a weapon on your shoulder without having to stabilize it often with your hands. Like I said before, I have no knowledge in this area. Thanks!

catalyst686
01-20-2011, 22:05
Here is a link for the one I was looking at http://store.magpul.com/product/MAG501/120

NeverMore1701
01-20-2011, 22:11
http://glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1297947

I now have it set up with a D-ring just above the buckle, so I can run it in single point mode just like the MS2, just much more comfortable.

TedG
01-21-2011, 08:21
I like the Israeli Defense Force sling.

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i90/TedG954/NOV-IDF1.jpg

I had this made for survival scenario. There's over 150' of 550 paracord.

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i90/TedG954/PS9.jpg

mikekjg
01-21-2011, 08:41
I run the padded VCAS from BlueForceFear. Super comfortable and can be adjusted on the fly.

trlcavscout
01-21-2011, 09:07
After trying several I prefer the Magpul MS2 sling with ASAP plate. They adjust quickly, quick transition from strong to weak side, I use it for training, coyote hunting and everything in between. But its such a personal preference thing you should find a shop that carries several of them and go try them. They should let you install the sling to try. If its mainly range you you may find a 2 or 3 point works better for you. But if you get the new forward attachment for the MS2 then you have the best of both worlds.