Converting stock Bushy carbine to Tactical, advice? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Converting stock Bushy carbine to Tactical, advice?

21Glock
01-24-2011, 08:33
Hi guys,
I have a stock A3 Bushmaster carbine I'm wanting to Tactical outfit for home defense and general shooting.
I'm wanting to put a quad rail on it. UTG from Cheaper Than Dirt is probably what I'll go to. Great reviews and inexpensive.

I'm undecided about the following items, Vertical foregrip, make and model.
Green laser, make and model.
Light, make and model.

Whatever is working for you and you like, let me know and why. Pics would be nice too!

THANKS!!!

WayaX
01-24-2011, 13:21
"tactical" is not hardware. But I'll bite this one anyway.

The first thing to do is fix any deficiencies of your rifle (looking at the chart is a good place to start, or M4carbine.net has a thread about it).

First utg is airsoft junk. It has no purpose on a serious rifle. Get a real ff rail, especially since you want a laser.

Foregrip should be a quality make/model. Other than that it needs to allow you to operate your light/laser without changing grips. As for a quality light - surefire M series are a good start. I don't use a laser so I can't help you there.

JBnTX
01-24-2011, 14:19
"tactical" is not hardware.....

Well Said!
"Tactical" is all in the mind.

To the OP:
For heavens sake do not Gucci up your rifle with a bunch of worthless
gadgets.

Any good home defense weapon requires only 3 things.
A good trigger, good sights and a "practical" light source.

21Glock
01-24-2011, 14:45
Thanks for the input guys. I'll keep these things in mind when I go to my next local gun show in mid Feb. and really see what is available. To see and feel what works for me on my type of AR.

MrMurphy
01-24-2011, 14:48
Rails: MagPul MOE if all you're going to do is stick on a light, they're cheap and they work.

Surefire G2X in either a LaRue LT707 or a MOE mount will work.