IP address? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : IP address?


Romadoc
01-25-2011, 20:11
How can I find out my IP address?

NYcarry
01-25-2011, 20:18
http://www.whatsmyip.org/

NYcarry
01-25-2011, 20:19
Or click start> type in the Run Box cmd then press enter.

At the window that opens type IPCONFIG

Linux3
01-25-2011, 23:38
Depends. Are you using a router?
If yes, then you want the IP address of the router as your system will just be using a local AKA LAN address like '192.168.1.xx'
RTFM and check the first page of the router web config page.

No router and
Windows?
Click Start
Run
Type 'cmd' in the window.
In the terminal type 'IPCONFIG /ALL'

Mac?
have not a clue.

Linux?
Open a terminal and type 'ifconfig -a'

kc8ykd
01-26-2011, 00:35
#show int dialer 1
Dialer1 is up, line protocol is up (spoofing)
Hardware is Unknown
Internet address is 76.000.000.51/32
MTU 1500 bytes, BW 56 Kbit, DLY 20000 usec,
reliability 255/255, txload 4/255, rxload 40/255
Encapsulation PPP, loopback not set
Keepalive set (10 sec)
DTR is pulsed for 1 seconds on reset
Interface is bound to Vi1
Last input never, output never, output hang never
Last clearing of "show interface" counters 11w5d
Input queue: 0/75/755/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0
Queueing strategy: weighted fair
Output queue: 0/1000/64/0 (size/max total/threshold/drops)
Conversations 0/0/16 (active/max active/max total)
Reserved Conversations 0/0 (allocated/max allocated)
Available Bandwidth 42 kilobits/sec
5 minute input rate 9000 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec
5 minute output rate 1000 bits/sec, 1 packets/sec
551244342 packets input, 742337428 bytes
337799193 packets output, 1239742 bytes
Bound to:
Virtual-Access1 is up, line protocol is up


:dunno:

http://www.whatsmyip.org/ is probably the easiest method to determine the external ip considering he may or may not have access to whatever router/proxy/firewall he's behind (if any).

local ip's are pretty easy to find via the above examples of how to use ipconfig from the command line.

HerrGlock
01-26-2011, 02:53
http://www.ipnow.org/images/iprand.jpg

Sgt. Schultz
01-26-2011, 07:08
Mac?
have not a clue. getmac from the command prompt.

HerrGlock
01-26-2011, 07:13
Mac?
have not a clue.

Linux?
Open a terminal and type 'ifconfig -a'

ifconfig works for OS X as well. Remember the back end of OS X is Free BSD so most of the familiar *NIX commands are there, just with a prettier front end.

dglockster
01-26-2011, 07:46
As an almost complete newbie and seriously, why is it important to know your IP address and what can you do once you know an IP address?

HerrGlock
01-26-2011, 08:10
As an almost complete newbie and seriously, why is it important to know your IP address and what can you do once you know an IP address?

Not much. Dunno what the OP wants it for but unless you're trying to set up, for instance, an email server that your father will want to connect to and you want to lock it down so only his IP can connect, or something similar, it's just a gee whiz item.

Well, you can also tell a buddy you did NOT send that email about viagra that has your return address. Just tell said buddy to look at the X-Originating-IP in the header of the email and compare it to your IP. If it's different, odds are you didn't send it.

tous
01-26-2011, 08:14
ifconfig works for OS X as well. Remember the back end of OS X is Free BSD so most of the familiar *NIX commands are there, just with a prettier front end.

Matter of opinion.

I happen to think Bash is quite attractive, bordering on beautiful.

HerrGlock
01-26-2011, 08:23
Matter of opinion.

I happen to think Bash is quite attractive, bordering on beautiful.

:) Even on the Mac all my shell scripts are bash.

Linux3
01-26-2011, 10:41
ifconfig works for OS X as well. Remember the back end of OS X is Free BSD so most of the familiar *NIX commands are there, just with a prettier front end.
I guess I knew that but was unsure if there was another way and also how to launch a terminal. I've spent many, many hours working on some Mac systems at work.
It is a pretty front end and damn hard to get anything done from a Systems Admin perspective. OK, OK, I'm a Unix guy and I find all GUIs a slow pain.

Should not go there. Don't want to start a flame war. GUI vs. command line could last for years and cost thousands of lives.

HerrGlock
01-26-2011, 10:46
I guess I knew that but was unsure if there was another way and also how to launch a terminal. I've spent many, many hours working on some Mac systems at work.
It is a pretty front end and damn hard to get anything done from a Systems Admin perspective. OK, OK, I'm a Unix guy and I find all GUIs a slow pain.

Should not go there. Don't want to start a flame war. GUI vs. command line could last for years and cost thousands of lives.

Pssst: Take a look at my .sig

Go to the Applications folder and click on Utilities. Click on that X-term looking thing and that opens an X-term and also puts the X-term icon in the bar at the bottom.

Hold the CTRL key and click on that X-term looking icon, go up to New Window and open all the X-terms you want in various colours. Poof, command line BSD. It's only slightly different than Berkley stuff.

If you want more of the GNU stuff, install macports. That gives you the ability to install gfind, gsed, guniq, etc. They end up in /opt/local/bin/ and all the usual suspects are there.

But lynx doesn't show cheerleaders.com near as well as opera, safari, or firefox :animlol: