Are my Trijicons out of alignment or is it me? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Are my Trijicons out of alignment or is it me?

timtx1
01-31-2011, 20:03
I just got my first gun, a Glock 23 Gen 4. I had Trijicon green night sights put on.

I noticed that all my shots were left of center. I talked with someone at the range and they said it was most likely trigger control. So, I practiced at home a bit to try to help with that. I am better now but my shots are still left.

I am relatively new to shooting. I have put 400 bullets through the Glock 23 so far and I have been practicing dry-firing at home in order to correct my trigger control issues.

When I look at the sights, it actually appears as if they are slightly to the right. There is a very small amount of space difference between the left and right portions of flat metal when looking down from the top onto the rear sight. So, if anything I should be shooting to the right if it was the sights that were affecting my aim.

So, which is it? Do I just need more practice or could the sights be slightly off and need to be adjusted? My guess would be the former since I am so new but I wanted to ask here to see if there's something I'm missing.

In the pictures attached, the targets were at seven yards (on the left) and 15 yards (on the right). And, it's a Trijicon, they just scraped off the letters when they mounted it using a sight tool.

Thanks for your help.

bentbiker
01-31-2011, 21:20
Almost every new Glock shooter hits left or low left at first. Keep up the dry firing and concentrate on keeping the sights on target through the shot. Try providing 60-70% of the grip strength from the weak hand, and use the strong hand almost exclusively to press the trigger straight to the rear.

RayB
01-31-2011, 21:51
The rear sight is a little offset to the right. But moving the rear sight to the right would tend to move your POA/POI to the right as well, so I wouldn't sweat it right now.

It's all you buddy!