1911 maintenance schedule [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : 1911 maintenance schedule

u4ea
02-02-2011, 09:09
I know 1911s need some oiling and parts replaced here and there. Is there any link that has the suggested guidelines to follow? I change my oil in my car every 2,500 miles. Timing belt/water pump every 90k. Is there any guide out there that tells you how often you need to change springs, replace mags, oil the gun and things of that nature? How long can a 1911 sit on a nightstand without being fired before you should oil it again, to keep it running smooth. Thanks guys.

Quack
02-02-2011, 09:17
10-8performance.com has info.

ArmoryDoc
02-02-2011, 09:17
Change your springs every 15K and add oil before it gets dry.

u4ea
02-02-2011, 09:20
Change your springs every 15K and add oil before it gets dry.

15k is probably 2-3 years worth of shooting for me, and this is my only gun lol.

As for adding oil before it gets dry, I guess I am a bit of a noob here. I've only ever had Glocks, and this gun is so different from them I am a bit perplexed. I may take it to a gun smith and have him explain it to me and show me what's up. Once someone shows me how to do something once I can do it, but I am pretty bad at learning things without seeing them.

ArmoryDoc
02-02-2011, 09:24
As for the springs, if you aren't using high powered rounds you may be ok at 15k change interval. Some advocate changing much sooner but it really depends on gun function and other indicators.

If you pull your slide back and look into the rails you can tell if there's oil on 'em or not. If it doesn't look sufficiently wet, add a drop or two to each rail. I always recommend reading the owners manual first. There are lot's of good resources for 1911 maintenance online, similar to the one above.

woodrowNC
02-02-2011, 09:27