When do you clean your tac. shotgun, How recent? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : When do you clean your tac. shotgun, How recent?

JCROWNII
02-06-2011, 13:30
Hello GT,

I am considering a tactical shotgun, Remington 870 to be exact, and I was wondering when do you clean it. I usually clean my firearms on or usually the day after I shoot them, whether its my AR, Glock, or Smith J-Frame, I still clean it. Do you do this with your shotgun? or do you clean it about every 300rnds or so? Never owned a shotgun before so im a newb in the shotgun world. Any help would be appreciated, Thanks.

cj5mrt
02-06-2011, 14:12
If it's a new gun I'd clean it before I shoot it. Kinda gets you familiar with the gun too.
Then I clean mine after I shoot them. Usually the same day.

Mike

pmwglock19
02-06-2011, 14:45
I go with the idea of cleanning all my firearms after I have shot them at the range. Pnce clean, they are ready to be used again.

Navitimer
02-06-2011, 14:59
I clean after every shooting session.

mixflip
02-06-2011, 16:23
You may not need to clean your guns at the end of the day since you may think you didnt shoot enough to cause excessive carbon fouling....but its still a good habit to clean your guns at the end of the day to "inspect" for wear and damage.

Just look at GT member Sturmgewehr who found his bolt being torn up by his bolt catch all related to the new P-mags he was using. He caught it quick because he cleaned and inspected his gun at the end of the day. If he had destroyed his bolt, it might have been hell trying to get another one from FN?

Jon_R
02-06-2011, 16:39
I'll buck the trend. I clean my pump shotgun every few months. I shoot 50-75 rounds a month through it at 3-gun. If you want to clean more feel free. What I do works for me.

I wait for a nice Sunday morning where I don't have anything to do and hang out on the back porch and clean some guns.

05DodgeDakota
02-06-2011, 17:14