Reducing LOP on Remington 870 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Reducing LOP on Remington 870

CornettSav
02-06-2011, 15:52
I have an 870 Wingmaster in 20 Gauge that I would like to adapt for
my wife and 12 yr old (small-framed) son to be able to shoot comfortably.

Does anyone manufacture a stock with adjustable length of pull? I have seen the collapsable pistol-grip stock but have never used a pistol grip stock on a shotgun. Would it be comfortable for us for an afternoon?
We shoot purely for recreational purposes (tossing claying birds out at the in-law's farm fields). Would it look too goofy shooting clays with the pistol grip?:crazy:

I know I could have the original stock modified for them, but I would like to be able to shoot it too. Something that could be adjusted to each shooter is what I'm looking for.

I'd rather find a replacement stock instead of modifying the original. It's not a very valuable gun, I know.

Any ideas ?

aippi
02-06-2011, 16:30
The SpecOps for a 20ga would fill the bill just perfect. Assuming of course your 870 is a light weight. What letter does the serial number end with? If it ends in the letter "U" the 20 ga stocks fit. If it is a heavy frame 20ga having a serial number ending in N or X then the 12 ga stock fits it. You need to know this before you get any stock.

byf43
02-06-2011, 20:03
SpecOps for 20 ga is a great stock!!!

I also bought a 'beater stock' (formerly on a Remington 760) for $10 at a gunshow and cut the LOP to fit my youngest son.

I recently took it off and put the original back on.

Feanor
02-06-2011, 21:21