Cant open GT on netbook [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Cant open GT on netbook


OfficerChris
02-08-2011, 06:53
I have quite an awkward problem for a day now.
Its not possible to open GT from my netbook. I get "Forbidden, you dont have permission to access forumdisplay.php. Additionally a 404 error encountered"

What the hell?

I am quite confident with computers, software and such things, but I have absolutely no idea where this comes from. Deleted the cookies, but it still doesnt work.
Made an opera update hours ago, but everything works fine, except for GT.

IndyGunFreak
02-08-2011, 10:00
Not trying to sound like "Mr. Obvious"... but where exactly is it trying to go? (What link?).

http://glocktalk.com should work just fine. Are you getting this on public wifi, or on a network at work?... They may have a filter that is blocking GT.

Try installing Firefox or Chrome, and see if you can get to GT from them.

IGF

gemeinschaft
02-08-2011, 11:06
Have you considered clearing your DNS cache?

from CMD promt:

"ping www.glocktalk.com"

Write down the IP address that you find.

Then flush your DNS using this command:

"ipconfig /flushdns"

Then type:

"ping www.glocktalk.com"

See if you resolve the same IP as before.

I'd be interested to see if your DNS settings are sending you on a wild goose chase.

If you find that you are having issues resolving DNS, you may consider manually choosing your DNS server settings for the network connection that you use.
I used to have issues with the DNS that my ISP was providing, so I changed my DNS settings to use Google's DNS server their addresses are 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4

I know it's a stab in the dark, but I've this before and this was the solution. If it doesn't work, you can always change it right back.

OfficerChris
02-08-2011, 11:08
thanks for the info, will check that tomorrow

GIockGuy24
02-08-2011, 14:19
I have one laptop that I can get to Glocktalk but when I try to sign in I get a wrong password or user ID message. At first I thought it was something in Windows but the same laptop has the same problem in Linux. I have it hard wired to the router, not wireless. It's just that one laptop. All other computers on the router, wired and wireless, have no problem. I checked the keyboard and everything seems to be typing properly.

gemeinschaft
02-08-2011, 15:47
I have one laptop that I can get to Glocktalk but when I try to sign in I get a wrong password or user ID message. At first I thought it was something in Windows but the same laptop has the same problem in Linux. I have it hard wired to the router, not wireless. It's just that one laptop. All other computers on the router, wired and wireless, have no problem. I checked the keyboard and everything seems to be typing properly.

Your laptop is a liberal and doesn't want you to have anything to do with guns. Shoot it immediately. :rofl::rofl:

All kidding aside, I am curious how you checked the keyboard.

If you have not already, open up Notepad and type your username and password just to view how the keystrokes are interpreted on the screen.

Is this what you mean by you checked the keyboard?

GIockGuy24
02-08-2011, 20:04
Your laptop is a liberal and doesn't want you to have anything to do with guns. Shoot it immediately. :rofl::rofl:

All kidding aside, I am curious how you checked the keyboard.

If you have not already, open up Notepad and type your username and password just to view how the keystrokes are interpreted on the screen.

Is this what you mean by you checked the keyboard?

Well I can see my user name when I type it to sign in. It looks alright. I use the same password for other things and they work.

OfficerChris
02-09-2011, 01:17
works now, no idea why, didnt change a thing

gemeinschaft
02-09-2011, 08:08
works now, no idea why, didnt change a thing

Interesting, it could be any number of things.

If it happens again, try the Manual DNS assignment and see what happens.

gemeinschaft
02-09-2011, 08:09
Well I can see my user name when I type it to sign in. It looks alright. I use the same password for other things and they work.

I would open Notepad and type your password to make sure that it appears the same way you type it.

If so, copy and paste it into the field for your password and see what happens.

OfficerChris
02-09-2011, 08:10
Interesting, it could be any number of things.

If it happens again, try the Manual DNS assignment and see what happens.

will try that, thanks for all the help!

OfficerChris
02-12-2011, 01:49
happened again today, wtf.

OfficerChris
02-12-2011, 01:53
the DNS tip didnt help, it shows the same Ip before and after
oh and I get a time when I ping gt.com

Toyman
02-12-2011, 02:54
Bookmark this: http://www.glocktalk.com/forums/index.php and log in from there, if you try to log in from just http://www.glocktalk.com/ it never works.

OfficerChris
02-12-2011, 03:10
like I said, I am usually quite confident about computers and tried all kind of things, also changing the adresse, differnt browser.. but nothing works. No idea why

OfficerChris
02-12-2011, 08:23
ok it works now, thanks gemeinschaft. The dns flush didnt work, but I added now 8888 and 8844 as dns and it works. Dont know if this has a negative side, because I kind of suck when it comes to network stuff, but seems like everything works.

gemeinschaft
02-12-2011, 10:24
ok it works now, thanks gemeinschaft. The dns flush didnt work, but I added now 8888 and 8844 as dns and it works. Dont know if this has a negative side, because I kind of suck when it comes to network stuff, but seems like everything works.

DNS is the service that translate "www.WEBSITE.com" to numbers and sends your browser in that direction.

Most of the time, DNS is being giving to you from your Internet Service Provider (ISP). If their DNS sucks, you are stuck with it unless you choose to use a more reliable set of DNS servers.

8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 are the addresses for Google's DNS servers; I have had no problems using them and anytime someone has an issue that sounds like a DNS error, I recommend trying to use those to see if that isolates the issue.

Hopefully, you will not see this pop up again.

OfficerChris
02-12-2011, 10:39
ah ok, I understand that somehow, but its still not that clear to me how it works - doesnt matter as long as I can browse GT l:supergrin:

gemeinschaft
02-12-2011, 10:46
ah ok, I understand that somehow, but its still not that clear to me how it works - doesnt matter as long as I can browse GT l:supergrin:

What if I told you my website address was 98.115.35.129 --> Would you remember it?

If you answer yes, then you probably don't get out much :rofl::rofl:

It would probably be easier if I told you my website was "www.OrganicChocolateMilkSucks.com" :whistling:

DNS is the translator between Humans and Computers. Computers think in numbers, we are much better with names.

When you enter Glocktalk.com, your computer asks the DNS server, I don't know this place, can you give me the IP address I need to go to?

If your DNS server has no idea, you probably will not be able to get there and then you are stuck in limbo land.

If hardcoding your DNS continues to work, then we can safely assume that the DNS server that you were relying on did not have a good record of where GlockTalk is located or the Commies that run your ISP have blocked it for having Gun Porn. :rofl::rofl:

Either way, as long you are up and running, that's what counts.

I have noticed that after hardcoding Google's DNS servers, I have had no DNS issues myself, whereas I would occasionally get them through my ISP.

OfficerChris
02-12-2011, 10:52
ah ok, but how does the dns server know where www.OrganicChocolateMilkSucks.com is?

gemeinschaft
02-12-2011, 10:58
ah ok, but how does the dns server know where www.OrganicChocolateMilkSucks.com is?

Sorry, I used a fictitious website name as an example, I think I was venting after going to our local donut shop with my son this morning and all they had was Organic Chocolate Milk.

He got it and told me that it takes like dirt.

Who the hell ever heard of Organic Chocolate Milk? If I am buying Chocolate Milk, it better be good old-fashioned artery clogging goodness, not something out of a chemistry set.

OfficerChris
02-12-2011, 11:02
lol I KNOW ITS FICTIOUS!

so how does the dns server know where www.OrganicChocolateMilkSucks.com WOULD be?

:rofl:

gemeinschaft
02-12-2011, 12:15
lol I KNOW ITS FICTIOUS!

so how does the dns server know where www.OrganicChocolateMilkSucks.com WOULD be?

:rofl:

This guys explains it much better than I could.

http://www.howstuffworks.com/dns.htm

OfficerChris
02-12-2011, 13:03
thanks, very interesting, now I get it. Didnt know that something like this exists.

gemeinschaft
02-12-2011, 15:35
thanks, very interesting, now I get it. Didnt know that something like this exists.

At least your frustration paid you back by learning a little more than you probably wanted to know about how it works in the background.

OfficerChris
02-12-2011, 23:43
indeed :thumbsup: