Patch pushers for 12g barrel? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Patch pushers for 12g barrel?

vram74
02-12-2011, 13:21
I'm new to shotguns. Just cleaned mine for the first time today and it was a PITA. Bought a cheap Winchester cleaning kit @ Walmart which did ok, but does no one make patch pushers (jags) for shotgun barrels like they do for pistols? I use them on my pistols and rarely have a need to use wire brushes.

sciolist
02-12-2011, 13:43
I use a 12ga mop to push patches... and a nylon bore brush to push them in my pistols.

aippi
02-12-2011, 14:35
I use none of that stuff. I clean the chamber and bore with a home made rig. Go to www.aiptactical.com (http://www.aiptactical.com) and click on the red link "Install and Cleaning" make one of each and that is all you need. However, if the weapon is going to be stored for awhile, I spay some Rem oil in the barrel then run a wad of AI&P Tactical Cleaning patches, AKA paper towel. through the barrel with the end of my polishing rod. This leaves the micro pours of the barrel with some oil in them and prevents rust till next range day.

Big Bird
02-12-2011, 14:43
In the field, on hunting trips and for occasional use I will run a bore snake through the gun.

But for a real cleaning I use a one piece rod, a wire (brass) brush soaked in Shooter's Choice followed by a couple of large patches usually made from old t shirts followed by a light coat of oil.