How to choose between 9mm weights? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How to choose between 9mm weights?

MplsPete
02-16-2011, 19:40
Sorry for the total newb question...

Bought a Glock 17 recently as my first handgun. When I checked out 9mm ammo to purchase, I see weights from 115g to 147g+. Why would one buy a heavier ammo over another? Why would you buy one weight over the other? Thanks in advance

Whitey1
02-16-2011, 19:55
Fat bullets need love too.

:supergrin:

deathpriest
02-16-2011, 20:09
The way I see it, the heavier bullets would hit harder at close range. More mass hit harder.

Philippe
02-16-2011, 20:16
May i ask what this fine firearm is being used for, that can help point us in the right direction in order to help you pick out some quality ammo.

MplsPete
02-16-2011, 20:43
May i ask what this fine firearm is being used for, that can help point us in the right direction in order to help you pick out some quality ammo.
In general, home defense. I also plan on quite a bit of fun time at the range with this being my first firearm.

G23c
02-16-2011, 20:45
go big, mo better.

Foxtrotx1
02-16-2011, 20:53
All weights of 9mm have their virtues. The 147's tend to get more penetration. However, A 115 +P+ load can realllllly open up and dump it's energy fast. However, there is a great debate as to whether or not the amount of energy (joules or Ft/lbs) actually matters on handgun wounds. As long as you use a proven loading such as Speer Golddots, 9PBLE, Golden Saber, ect. You will not notice too much difference between weights. I doubt many people could tell them apart in a gel test without captions.

Edit: Summary: Bullet Design seems to be far more influential than the weight in 9mm.

collim1
02-16-2011, 20:54
I personally dont think it matters as much as it used to. I like to keep several boxes of SD ammo stored away.