Turkey hunting...breasts only? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Turkey hunting...breasts only?

jdavionic
03-14-2011, 20:12
I'm new to Turkey hunting. When I was asking a friend about places to go, we started talking about cleaning wild turkeys. He said that he just plucks the chest area and takes the breast meat only. When I mentioned that seemed wasteful, he said 'there isn't hardly any meat on the legs'...'they're not like the birds you get in store.'

Like I say, I'm new to turkey hunting. Is that what most of you do?

trlcavscout
03-15-2011, 06:40
Theres not a lot of meat elsewhere. But their is more then just breast meat.

noway
03-17-2011, 18:06
For a wild turkey there's meat on the leg. If any thing the, wings are sparser when it comes to meat. Remember they are not as big as a butterball on aisle #3 ;)

What I typically do;

I gut the bird from the anal vent, flip it on it's back and cut the leg-bone at the start of the thighs

I then cut ( saw ) the wing as close to the body

I pull off most of the tail feathers and some of the breast feathers to get a good cut, and then skin the bird.

Some where within all of this mess, the neck and gizards are removed.

Only thing that I discard are , foot, neck, wings, gut and feathers. When you are done you have a perfect body in tack with legs as stubs ;)

Now a lot of people don't care for the darker leg meats, and other care for the breast. To each his own. But drumsticks are great smoke on in a crock pot or used to make turkey stock.

Whatever I don't eat, I give away or my neighbor cats find my home and get a good meal or two.

jdavionic
03-17-2011, 18:20
I asked around on a local forum and someone had a great suggestion for the other non-breast meat. They toss it in the grinder and make turkey burgers. To me, that alone sounds like a good enough reason to get as much off the bird as possible.

boomchakabowwow
03-22-2011, 19:39