New 10mm Owner: Signs of overpressure? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : New 10mm Owner: Signs of overpressure?

21Carrier
04-02-2011, 13:45
Hey guys, I've got a problem. I believe I am seeing signs of overpressure from some factory new ammo I bought yesterday. I was planning to shoot, then reload it, but now I'm a little leery to even shoot the stuff. Problem is, I am COMPLETELY new to 10mm (those were my first 10s to shoot), so these things that I am interpreting as "signs of overpressure" may be totally normal and characteristic of this awesome caliber.

Just for some background on me, I have shot many guns (rifles, pistols, shotguns) in my past, but just bought my first pistol about two years ago (G21SF). I wanted to start reloading, and upon telling my awesome neighbor about my desire to roll my own, he promptly let me "borrow for an indefinite length of time" his Dillon 550B. So, I quickly jumped headfirst into reloading. I have been reloading .45ACP for about 6 months now, and have made over a thousand rounds, but I'm still somewhat of a novice.

Yesterday, I bought my first 10mm (a Glock 29, awesome gun), and bought the following ammo: Cor-Bon Pow'rball 135 gr.; Cor-Bon 180gr BCSP (this is a pretty hot load for a Cor-Bon. 1300fps and 676fpe, I wish they had more than one box), and finally, 3 boxes of American Eagle 180gr FMJ. I had planned to carry the Pow'rball, shoot the Cor-Bon 180s for fun, and shoot and reload the American Eagles.

Well, after shooting the first magazine of AE, I began picking up my brass, and noticed quite a large bulge on one side of the casings near the pressure ring. Then, looking at the primers (and comparing them to unfired primers), they seemed decidedly flattened. I will post pics.