Guess you get what you pay for. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Guess you get what you pay for.

Chuckc
04-09-2011, 11:25
I've been reloading rifle and pistol cartridges since the 1960's and have 10's of thousands of rounds through my presses. Having said that, there is always a lesson to be learned.
During the primer "shortage" of a year or so ago, I decided to try some available Russian primers. First try was with PMC "Green" non-toxic primers. Have had great success with them.
Then I decided to try Wolf small pistol primers. Initially they worked great. However the recent batch has had a number of failures to fire on the first firing pin strike. Most of the time they go off on the 2nd or 3rd try.
I also bought 10K of the Tula small pistol primers when Powder Valley had their sale. Basically the same experience as with the Wolf. They appear to be made in the same factory.
So............bottom line. I'm getting around 2%+ failures out of both the Wolf and Tula small pistol primers.
Is it a primer seating problem?, faulty primer construction, I don't really know. I've checked seating depth till I'm blue in the face.
Good news is that the traditionally good primers are currently available at reasonable prices.
The Russian stuff can be used for range practice, but for matches, I'll stick to my Federal or CCI primers.
Anyone with similar experience??

fredj338
04-09-2011, 12:23
So............bottom line. I'm getting around 2%+ failures out of both the Wolf and Tula small pistol primers.
Is it a primer seating problem?, faulty primer construction, I don't really know. I've checked seating depth till I'm blue in the face.
Good news is that the traditionally good primers are currently available at reasonable prices.
The Russian stuff can be used for range practice, but for matches, I'll stick to my Federal or CCI primers.